111 Reviews

Return to Course
jmaycock
@jmaycock
Jan 26, 2023
5.0
"We had an amazing experience today at this very unique course. Mike was such a kind and patient host, who walked the entire round with us to make sure we knew the layout. We picked up some cool custom discs and great t-shirts. Thanks again Mike!"
danryan44
@danryan44
Jan 26, 2023
5.0
"This course is a gem. Mike's got a great layout and is a wealth of knowledge for a rube like myself. Thanks Mike for all you do"
roster2gards
@roster2gards
Jan 19, 2023
5.0
"A very unique experience. Tight lines, super technical and challenging. Mike is a great host and has put together an awesome course."
tribonk
@tribonk
Jan 18, 2023
4.0
"Second jungle course I’ve played. All the holes are fair and varied. Expect to lose discs, as there are some piles of tree detritus that is impossible to climb/dig through. Our group had Mike and John guide us through the 18. Call ahead and buy a disc from him. "
jonnyboysnap
@jonnyboysnap
Jan 18, 2023
5.0
"Amazing course with some tough shots. Like others have already said, you'll use every shot in your bag. Mike and John were fantastic hosts and guides of the course"
southstar
@southstar
Jan 16, 2023
5.0
"Fantastic course with amazing natural scenery."
bradenthiel
@bradenthiel
Jan 11, 2023
5.0
"Really incredible spot, Mike came out to say howdy and sent his buddy Jon with us as our guide and he did a great job. Beautiful course, sometimes tricky but never overwhelming. Mike seems like a busy guy so definitely call ahead a few days. I only brought my driving putter and that seemed adequate considering we're traveling light, a full bag would obviously be more fun but if your shot shaping is decent a stable driving putter should be fine. Thanks Mike and Jon!"
joeham22
@joeham22
Jan 2, 2023
5.0
"Mike was a great caddie. Amazing use of the space here "
bkelly1
@bkelly1
Dec 31, 2022
5.0
"This course was a highlight of our trip! Mike has done an incredible job of creating a fun and challenging course through the jungle surrounding this place. Having him along as a tour guide/caddy was the cherry on top. I can't recommend this place high enough, well done Mike."
adamcar88
@adamcar88
Dec 29, 2022
5.0
"This is a challenging and extremely fun course that you have to check out. The owner Mike is a great guy who gives you a tremendous experience. A once in a lifetime trip. Check it out!"
benjam83
@benjam83
Dec 28, 2022
5.0
"This place is great! Challenging course that’ll make you use every shot you’ve got….and a few shots that you don’t… If you’re visiting, you’ve got to put this place on your itinerary…"
smackenzie
@smackenzie
Dec 27, 2022
5.0
"Go see Mike! Awesome host who guides you through your first round and gives you all sorts of insight into the history and development of course. Appropriate for all skill levels with long and short tees."
julianjk
@julianjk
Dec 18, 2022
5.0
"Incredible course. Mike took the time to join me on my round and share his knowledge of disc golf and expertise on the course he has created. A can’t miss spot for any disc golfer visiting the big island"
jrocks808
@jrocks808
Dec 10, 2022
5.0
"Make sure to reach out to the owner before playing, they do great work, be sure to check out out the discs after your round! "
bwillia223
@bwillia223
Dec 9, 2022
4.5
"This course is like nothing I’ve ever played before. It’s in thick, jungle like terrain. Mike did a great job cutting out multiple lanes to choose from, giving you different, creative ways to approach the baskets. Some holes are short, but challenging. What I liked most is that even if you didn’t have the best drive, you still had the chance to get yourself out of trouble. Mike was a great host! He walked the course with us, showed us the different shots and his beautiful property."
hartung77
@hartung77
Dec 9, 2022
5.0
"One of the most beautiful courses I’ve n ever played. Wooded and technical "
willowbrain
@willowbrain
Nov 14, 2022
5.0
"This place is supreme among disc golf. Nothing like it. A labor of love by Mike and friends on his land. You can buy custom stamped discs if you want, or just chill and huck, for free! Call Mike before, and be ready to make new friends."
justob
@justob
Oct 10, 2022
5.0
"Stunning unique jungle features with well designed holes. Mike is a blast. Search for his website to get his number to schedule a round"
beardovzeus
@beardovzeus
Sep 28, 2022
5.0
"Incredible disc golf course cut out of the jungle. The owner Mike is very friendly and accommodating. He’s built a true gem. Maybe the most memorable round of disc golf I’ve ever played. "
mraff10
@mraff10
Sep 24, 2022
5.0
"A true destination course! You’ve never played anything like it, because there is nothing like it. Mike is an excellent host and guided us around the property. Lot’s of unique lines on everything hole and rewards creative shot shaping over distance. 5 stars"
johngattajr
@johngattajr
Sep 21, 2022
5.0
"Awesome track. Must play on the Big Island. "
authorjohan
@authorjohan
Jul 18, 2022
5.0
"Amazing rainforest course. Mike took us around as a guide. Fun guy to chat with. He has a long history with the game. Was a great experience while visiting the island on vacation."
evanbaker
@evanbaker
Jul 15, 2022
5.0
"Amazing and extremely friendly owner, gave us a tour of the entire course, giving tips and tricks from experience. Amazing design, course in the middle of the jungle."
clintonian
@clintonian
Jul 15, 2022
5.0
"Great personalized tour through an amazing jungle course. Bought some swag as well (t-shirts and discs) to support the operation! Thank you Mike!"
psullivan805
@psullivan805
Jul 13, 2022
5.0
"Played the short tees. Super fun. Was raining which made it pretty challenging. But pretty sheltered from wind. Very wooded. Definitely check it out! As Towely said, “Don’t forget to bring a towel.” Thanks, Mike!!"
ryanmyers
@ryanmyers
Jul 10, 2022
5.0
"One-of-a-kind experience. The course flows well and demands a variety of shots. Played a round with Moses and learned all about the course from Mike. Definitely worth the journey - Mike is a great host!"
sawyerlinde
@sawyerlinde
Jul 10, 2022
5.0
"Mike has created a beautiful course and was a great and helpful host "
smallkove
@smallkove
Jun 27, 2022
5.0
"I love this course, possibly my favorite course of all time. The owner is amazing, and the fact that it's his private property and he lets you play free is unbelievable! On top of that he gives you tips and has merchandise as well. I have no problems with this course whatsoever, and if you play Disc Golf on the Big Island it's a must to play here."
aaronkarl
@aaronkarl
Jun 22, 2022
5.0
"Call Mike. Super cool dude, rad tour guide. Best spot on the bid island."
jslack
@jslack
Jun 19, 2022
5.0
"Awesome course on 40 acres. Mike is very welcoming and was able to play and guide through the course. Awesome place. Highly recommend. Got a great looking shirt too. "
pr0fe550r
@pr0fe550r
May 4, 2022
5.0
"Discgolf in a rain forest "
edgarsb559
@edgarsb559
Apr 23, 2022
5.0
"The best disc golf course on the big island if you only have time to play one course this is the one! Mike is the man old school, kind, and always trying to teach players new ways to throw, tips and tricks. Mike will follow you throughout the round inform you where it’s safe to walk through what lines to hit and high percentage birdies. One of the most knowledgeable people I’ve met in disc golf. Every time I visit the big island I contact mike to reserve a time. This man and the course is a gem."
brillopad
@brillopad
Apr 20, 2022
5.0
"The course owners were wonderful people, and the course is beautiful and well manicured. The rough is rough, and prepare to go looking for some discs. But shaping the shot you want is very rewarding."
levibrotensky
@levibrotensky
Apr 15, 2022
5.0
"A must play if you’re in Hilo. Mike walked us through the course giving us the history and showed us where all the lines are. He’s the man and has put together a top notch course on his beautiful land. "
gordyhunt
@gordyhunt
Apr 4, 2022
5.0
"What a gem… Mike was a great host and showed us around the course. This is a must play if you are in the area. My wife and our friends had an incredible time! Thanks Mike for all of the hard work!!"
oilcan66
@oilcan66
Apr 1, 2022
5.0
"Friggin' fun and challenging. Thanks Mike and John"
bricewaters
@bricewaters
Mar 13, 2022
5.0
"Had a blast! Mike made us feel super welcomed and showed us his awesome course. Mostly technical. High risk and reward course. If you hit the lines right you're golden if not then your recovery game better be up to snuff. Update came back a year later to find new excellent holes. Awesome addition of teeboxes. Course just continues to impress and get better as it ages."
tonyneufeld22
@tonyneufeld22
Feb 28, 2022
5.0
"Absolutely amazing experience! I would recommend this course to anyone on the island, you can see the blood, sweat and tears that went into the course. Send Mike a message, he is a great guide for the course."
hebrewhurricane
@hebrewhurricane
Feb 24, 2022
5.0
"Course is super cool, like nothing I’ve ever seen. Mike is great. Took us around, gave us pointers, showed us neat plants. If you’re near Hilo you have to play it. "
carsonsimpson
@carsonsimpson
Feb 20, 2022
5.0
"This course is VERY wooded, difficult, so on. It’s a drive to get there through potholes and gravel, it may not seem like a lot. The accommodation of Mike and his friends easily makes this course worth it, they help with lines, basket findings, and entertainment. Roger even let me keep a disc from his bag, 100% contact Mike and show up on time. He also has a little shop with some cool Gargoyle Garden discs. Must play on the island."
number1dad
@number1dad
Feb 18, 2022
5.0
"Super fun course, well maintained, and very friendly players"
justinh8675
@justinh8675
Feb 16, 2022
5.0
"Awesome course with a great variety of throws. Super scenic as well!"
seanti
@seanti
Feb 9, 2022
5.0
"Incredible course. My favorite so far! "
small197
@small197
Feb 5, 2022
5.0
"Awesome course - one of the most fun rounds I've ever played. It was a treat to play with Mike and his friend John (who is a regular) - they gave great advice and history about the course. Definitely make sure to check out the custom stamped discs and tee shirts after your round. "
shawnhaeusler
@shawnhaeusler
Feb 3, 2022
5.0
"Thanks for the round Mike! Very challenging round through elevation changes and treed land."
yaegerbombs
@yaegerbombs
Feb 2, 2022
5.0
"World class disc golf and Mike is the best! Must-play if you’re on the big island and only have time for one. "
ddetscher
@ddetscher
Jan 25, 2022
5.0
"Incredible. What a unique experience and well loved course"
clindstrom97
@clindstrom97
Jan 21, 2022
5.0
"Fantastic course. Challenging fairways with rewarding lines. Mike is a legend in the sport, this is a must play course for anyone on the island. I played it three times in a week. BUY THE MERCH!!"
loki4488
@loki4488
Jan 20, 2022
5.0
"Super fun course with Mike and Otto and John, Luck.. Course is amazing, you've got to throw it to know it..Gargoyles Garden is a fun challenging carefully managed discgolf course in the Big Islands Mountain View neighborhood. The host extraordinare Mike Leitch coordinates daily visits with new and returning enthusiasts. The course has everything, short T's for beginners and long to challenge seasoned pros. Good elevation change, par 4's and 5's and shorter technical holes. Give a call and one of"
veryvarney
@veryvarney
Jan 18, 2022
5.0
"So fun. Mike and Otto are exceptional hosts. Can’t wait to get back. "
jsprechs
@jsprechs
Jan 14, 2022
5.0
"Amazing course. Must play. "
tybrowning
@tybrowning
Jan 13, 2022
5.0
"Beautiful course through the rainforest, technical but definitely has lines to hit, I would highly recommend it"
fletter
@fletter
Jan 12, 2022
5.0
"Kickass course, kickass people! Thanks a bunch Mike!"
cedgoose
@cedgoose
Jan 9, 2022
5.0
"Amazing experience - Mike spent over 4 hours (!) walking us through every hole, giving tips, and being incredibly patient as we had a couple new players in our group. Must do course in big island!"
ciwhite
@ciwhite
Jan 5, 2022
5.0
"Loved playing with the crew! Mike is super awesome as well. "
cooltuesday
@cooltuesday
Jan 5, 2022
5.0
"Big thanks to Mike and to Otto for showing us around. Thoroughly enjoyed the visit and the game. Such a lovely setting with a lot of work put into it. Well worth the visit!"
jakejones
@jakejones
Jan 3, 2022
5.0
"Great course, Mike and John were very hospitable"
drewvaillant
@drewvaillant
Jan 3, 2022
5.0
"Easily the single most beautiful course I have ever played on. Really feel like you are in the rainforest. Super creative lines that are all natural, with medium to hard difficulty. Definitely worth the trip out, just give Mike a call (super nice!)"
ballsofsteel
@ballsofsteel
Dec 29, 2021
5.0
"I thoroughly enjoyed this opportunity to play a round here. Mike took the time to walk the course with me as I played the round with Otto. Such a great experience and wonderful hosts. I strongly encourage anyone in the area to play this course if you haven’t already."
valinor808
@valinor808
Dec 23, 2021
5.0
"The most unique experience I’ve had in my 15 years of playing disc golf. Mike took the time to walk us around the course and it was amazing to hear about the process of carving a course out of the rain forest. Thanks Mike!"
dsang326
@dsang326
Nov 22, 2021
5.0
"Beautiful course! Highly recommend the visit! "
alandaeta
@alandaeta
Nov 21, 2021
5.0
"Great course. A good amount of technical holes reward thoughtful play. Terrain is very unique. Mike was great and was nice enough to guide us through the course. He has some sweet looking custom stamped discs on offer."
keenandg
@keenandg
Nov 19, 2021
5.0
"B-E-A-utiful course! Call Mike before you go. Mike takes his time guiding and showing you around the course he put hours and hours into building. The love he has for Disc golf really shows! If you’re in Hawaii PLEASE GO and SUPPORT HIM! It’s people and places like these that us Disc golfers need to help keep going. I bought his Disc with the sick logo he designed on it. Definitely going up on the wall. Thanks again Mike for showing us around and helping me with my form. "
petezah
@petezah
Nov 19, 2021
5.0
"Amazing experience"
kevin5517
@kevin5517
Nov 9, 2021
4.5
"Make sure you call ahead, day before should be good. Very nice course. Short range technical course with a couple of longer holes. Enjoyable for all levels of play."
jordanmcmoon
@jordanmcmoon
Nov 8, 2021
5.0
"Excellent course design, great hosts!"
jacoby
@jacoby
Nov 4, 2021
5.0
"What an amazing course and an incredible host, Mike. We also got to play with Otto, he was super helpful throughout the course and showed us every line we needed to hit! This is a MUST if you are on the big island. Stunning views. Technical lines. Great company. Everything you’re looking for in disc golf! Thanks again Mike and Otto!"
kdiesel
@kdiesel
Oct 28, 2021
5.0
"One of a kind gem. They have put so much work into this place. Please thank Mike for this place if you go, and buy at least one disc! Might be a bit muddy, but it is a rainforest. Enjoy the mud and the natural surroundings. Aloha"
luckyguy
@luckyguy
Oct 27, 2021
5.0
"I had this course at the top of my list during my visit to HI and it did not disappoint. Our guide, Arjang, was fantastic! Everyone there was so kind and friendly. The course is very technical which required me to use every disc in my bag. The landscape is beautiful - so many exotic trees, plants and flowers. We really hit it at a good time; the course was well-manicured as they were preparing for a tournament, and the weather was perfect. I can't recommend this course enough to any enthusiast."
alexsegs
@alexsegs
Oct 22, 2021
5.0
"Great course, tight lines. Mike is a great host, lots of fun!"
jbdcarns
@jbdcarns
Oct 20, 2021
5.0
"Beautifully cared for restored native jungle plays host to an incredible course with an amazing vibe and world class layout. Mike and friends took the time to make sure we had an amazing time. If you love disc golf this place is a can’t miss. "
neilgoing
@neilgoing
Sep 6, 2021
5.0
"6 stars. Fantastic, fun, challenging course. Mike was an incredible host/guide. The course is a labor of love and it really shows. "
tcavaliers
@tcavaliers
Aug 20, 2021
5.0
"Mike was a fantastic host and helped me with my game! Great man and great course! "
dainbramage1
@dainbramage1
Aug 19, 2021
5.0
"An amazing experience in a gorgeous setting. Even though he didn’t play, Mike walked all eighteen with me, pointing out different ways to approach the various holes. We talked about trees that had fallen, other ways the course had changed over time, and how some of the big names that had played there played certain holes. Great guy and it made the rounds WAY more enjoyable with him there. I looked at his stamped discs and t-shirts and picked up a few. Already looking forward to the next trip!!!"
graylee
@graylee
Aug 17, 2021
5.0
"Mike was an excellent guide. He filled us in on the background of the course and history of disc golf on the island. A high point of our Hawaii vacation!"
chrisbrand
@chrisbrand
Aug 4, 2021
5.0
"Mike and his buddy John were both great. Very welcoming. Fun, sometimes frustrating course with some style. Expect wet soggy ground. Let the non-discing gf stay at the picnic table near the house. Bring some cash for some great custom stamped discs. "
justinp23
@justinp23
Jul 29, 2021
5.0
"Great course! Short but very technical. Mike is a fantastic host, highly recommend."
ekirkbride911
@ekirkbride911
Jul 22, 2021
5.0
"Awesome owner and host! We picked up great tips that we will take home with us. "
spencerfr
@spencerfr
Jul 19, 2021
5.0
"Such a great time! Mike was an awesome host and the course was a lot of fun. Really cool discs for sale too "
jacobfootball
@jacobfootball
Jul 7, 2021
4.5
"Really fun course. Very well kept for a private course. Mike was a great host and walked us through the course. A lot of fun shots and obstacles. Shorter course where a couple kicks can make or break your day. Definitely worth the visit."
zmorales11
@zmorales11
Jul 6, 2021
5.0
"Really great course, Mike is a cool guy and will play the course with you, he hosts monthly tournaments too"
paulsj
@paulsj
Jun 19, 2021
5.0
"Great technical course that is very well designed. Mike is a great host and walked us through his course and gave many helpful tips on technique and strategy throughout the round."
jputtin07
@jputtin07
Jun 15, 2021
5.0
"Amazing course, mike makes you feel so welcome and right at home!"
acesonly
@acesonly
Jun 7, 2021
4.5
"Great guy who runs the place and has a nice/small selection of discs available to purchase. The course would improve with more permanent tee pads and signage."
derekbozym
@derekbozym
Jun 3, 2021
5.0
"This is such a well thought out, intricately designed course where almost all of the holes are unique from each other and require a certain shot. Not many bombers, and even the longer distance holes it’s more so about hitting the line. The course designer mike is extremely friendly and made the experience even better providing insight on holes as well as guiding the way. MUST play if you’re on the big island. A lot of time and effort went into this course creation and it really shows"
zackmaron12
@zackmaron12
May 23, 2021
5.0
"This course and the experience that goes with it, is truly special. It poured for most of the round while we were out there, but it was a blast. Great course design, and very nice owner to take us through the course. Go check it out!!!!"
regularjames
@regularjames
May 17, 2021
5.0
"Can’t wait to see this course continue to grow. Mike is an incredible host. Come out and play! "
darrellmartinz
@darrellmartinz
Apr 27, 2021
5.0
"The owner and community go above and beyond to make this course a one of a kind experience through Hawaii's natural landscape. "
momentsinabox
@momentsinabox
Apr 25, 2021
5.0
"Very technical and a true gem. I highly recommend this course. Beautiful work by Mike. Can’t wait to come back. "
awinter
@awinter
Apr 23, 2021
5.0
"One of the most unique and fun experiences I’ve had playing disc golf. Highly recommend making it out here if you can."
timbur
@timbur
Apr 11, 2021
5.0
"Great design, very technical, beautiful setting. Mike was a great host - walking the course, giving tips and teaching us new shots. We learned a lot in a short period of time. Thanks for the great experience and patience with us relatively new players. I strongly recommend you go if on the Big Island."
capmorganworm
@capmorganworm
Feb 18, 2021
5.0
"Amazing course in paradise! Mike is a great guy, took the time to guide us through the course and instruct us as new players. Highly recommend this course! "
sammschumer
@sammschumer
Feb 8, 2021
5.0
"Mike is an awesome host showed us around and gave us some good tips!!"
jvannnrmn
@jvannnrmn
Jan 20, 2021
5.0
"Amazing. Tough but amazing. Mike is the man! "
jmdudley
@jmdudley
Jan 2, 2021
4.5
"Some of the lines were real tough. Defo need a local touch. Saw paige pierce thoughts and played a round with all the locals. Well worth a visit!"
natthiel
@natthiel
Jan 2, 2021
5.0
"Call the owner for directions. Nice mix of fronthand and backhand shots. Mike played the whole course with me, they just updated a few of the pins. Beautiful upkeep, and worth the drive from Kona! You may get wet"
nbashoes1
@nbashoes1
Dec 14, 2020
5.0
"Excellent course! Mike is an amazing guy to play with. He has done a lot of work to get the course into amazing shape! Highly recommend going!"
erycklee
@erycklee
Nov 5, 2020
5.0
"DON’T rely on Google maps. It will get you within a couple miles of the course but then tries to take you through other private land. Contact owner for directions. This is private land being generously shared. No maps or Tee markers, try to play with a local or talk to the owner before playing for tips. BRING an umbrella and your dry discs will thank you."
timras14
@timras14
Oct 30, 2020
5.0
"Course has a mixture of bh,fh shots. Mike is a great guy. Has some stories about the local area and course. Great guide with a very well managed course. Challenging to score low, but pars can be saved. Fun fun. Discs and shirts were available when I played, make sure to buy some and show support."
dcannon
@dcannon
Oct 29, 2020
5.0
"It's a tough course right off the bat. I mean you're playing in a rain forest! Mike the owner was super awesome friendly and welcoming to his course"
ereppun
@ereppun
Sep 5, 2020
4.5
"What a beautiful place. Mike is such a generous host! Worth the trip entirely!!"
lukeorth
@lukeorth
Aug 23, 2020
5.0
"Unreal course and Mike is an even better host! 11/10 the only course you MUST play on Big Island"
rocknrollnc
@rocknrollnc
Feb 14, 2020
5.0
"Awesome course! Beautifully landscaped property. Mike was fantastic with communication and directions. I cannot recommend playing this course enough if you are on the big island. Even has some discs and t shirts for sale withe the awesome gargoyles garden logo. A+ 11/10"
knack6
@knack6
Dec 3, 2019
5.0
"Very pretty course. Very wet conditions. Would recommend boots"
youngwilly
@youngwilly
Aug 30, 2019
5.0
"Such a fun course and a fun guy. Worth visiting and it’ll keep getting better and better "
deathtyrant
@deathtyrant
Jul 25, 2019
5.0
"Great forest coarse on the side of a volcano in hawaii, I've never played any coarse as beautiful, fun and technical as gargoyles garden "
cougartymac
@cougartymac
May 4, 2019
5.0
"Such a fun course. Mike is doing a great job fixing it up. I'm excited to see what it becomes! "
sierra112
@sierra112
Nov 5, 2018
4.5
"The course level was easy to intermediate. It was lots of fun and what I wanted on a tropical island. My wife and I called Mike and set a time a he gave us a great tour of his property. "
linksmitty22
@linksmitty22
Oct 13, 2018
4.5
"My wife and I stopped at gargoyles garden to play a round with Mike. The experience was unforgettable as Mike has cultivated a pure gem on his property. The work he has put in with mostly his bare hands is insurmountable. The course itself offers a variety of shots through a thoroughly brushed portion of his property. Let’s not kid around here as this forest is THICK. Mike is still tweaking the course as he expands through the thick rainforest brush. We had a blast. Highly recommended! "
sharpmatt
@sharpmatt
Sep 22, 2018
5.0
"Great course! Fun, technical layout. Contact the owner Mike to play and he’ll take you around the course personally. "
jrumley12
@jrumley12
Mar 4, 2018
5.0
"Tropical rainforest. Technical and tight. Very well maintained with a variety of fairways and obstacles. Natural teepads w/ some rubber mat teepads. Their monthly match was a great time! If you’re a disc golfer on the big island this is a must stop, Contact Mike! "